A trip to Goodwill

Yesterday, I went by Goodwill in my area to drop off some items for donations & I decided to pop into the store to see what kinds of books were available.

Below are 3 awesome books I bought and look forward to reading.

20130731-173454.jpg

I like to read a lot especially books in the genre of non fiction, Christian living & spiritual growth and of course jewelry books. As a firm believer and advocate for education, I always encourage people to read as much as they can. It sets you apart from others and gives you a deeper view or understanding of the world we live in.
If you want to succeed, you owe it to yourself and children to stay knowledgeable, grow intellectual and socially.
My cousin also picked up this book, The Art of Accessorizing

20130731-174122.jpg
(which I intend to borrow) and made a Vine Video for great jewelry storage finds that I’ll be posting another day.

All in all, I’m happy with the books I got & I hope to share some of the wisdom with you guys on Inspiration Friday, so look out for the posts and subscribe to this blog to get first hand notice on when it is available.

What books have you read recently or in the past that have changed your life or given you great insight regarding something? Lets hear your voice!

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I love reading but for the past few years, I have gravitated towards reading blogs and online articles as opposed to books. It’s no excuse but over the years, I developed a very short attention span to books, my bro did give me A Thousand Splendid Suns which made me really appreciate all the choices I have as a woman growing up in the West. It’s also exquisitely written but I am yet to finish it after 2 yrs!!!
    And I have my eyes on Americanah…

    • For a long time I didn’t really enjoying books. During my time in high school when most of my mates and friends read novels, I used to wonder how they had time for such things. I felt non-fiction was a waste of my time and I’d rather read things that increased my knowledge a.k.a textbooks lol. But sometime in college a friend of mine gifted me James Paterson’s Jack & Jill and my reading life transformed from then (I think I need to write James a thank you letter). Books that would take me a year to read now took me weeks and in some cases days.
      At some point I got into reading blogs and online articles but now I do a hybrid of all of that. I once heard of a saying that said if you want to hide anything from a man, put it in a book, it got me thinking real hard because on some level it was the truth. So it’s an exciting part of my life I hope to continue to old age. πŸ™‚
      I have not actually read any of Chimamanda’s books, hopefully one day…

      Thanks for the comment too πŸ™‚

      • Loving that phrase- if you want to hide anything from a man, put it in a book- I’ll do my best to remember that!
        If you live in Europe, I am doing a vintage dress giveaway-http://myfashionslashlife.wordpress.com/

      • Oh yea, ever since I heard that line back in I think 2005, it has stayed with me…
        I read your blog post about the give away but then I saw that it was just within Europe… It is a cute dress with great colors… I hope whoever wins it loves it as much as you do πŸ™‚

Your Thoughts?

