Sights of San Francisco — Day 2

Day 2 of my weekend in San Francisco rolled in and I was looking forward to all the things I was going to see. After a lazy morning in bed watching the movie Flight featuring Denzel Washington, it was time to hit the road and enjoy as much of the city as I could.

We made a quick stop at The Museum of the African Diaspora (MOAD), which showcases the history, art and the cultural richness that resulted from the dispersal of Africans throughout the world. Right in the lobby I was pleasantly greeted by a display of very gorgeous gemstone jewelry from various countries in Africa. I felt like a kid walking into a candy shop.

MOAD san francisco IMG_5789 IMG_5791

We left the museum and took the train to a few other places and finally we made our way to China Town, the largest community of Chinese people outside of China!

chinatown californiaWhilst walking through the streets of Chinatown, I knew I was going to come across a few jewelry shops but I had no clue what was in store for me. As I walked from street to street, I lost count of the number of jewelry shops I saw and at some point, I just stopped taking pictures of every store I saw because there were just too many of them but I was definitely excited.

jewelry shops chinatown san francisco IMG_5819 IMG_5820 IMG_5821 IMG_5826 IMG_5827

It was like, every corner I turned, there was a jewelry store.

Walking further down just before Sacramento street, as I was walking past a store, I looked to my left and my eyes caught a window display of a collection of Amber necklaces. Instantly I was drawn in and literally froze on the spot staring at the glittering light from the Amber gemstones. I was in paradise…

IMG_5830Finally, I managed to snap out of my day dreaming and continued my walk around the market. I walked into a store called Fuu Lee Gift shop and I found this rotating bracelet holder. Immediately, I fell in love with it because the design made so much sense! It was a super easy and convenient way to store or display your bracelets. It was nothing like I had ever seen before.

IMG_5825 IMG_5828Still, on my walk around the market, I came across another jewelry store Juno. The colors of the store just kept calling my name and I answered! ( I guess because the purple color is also one of my brand colors)

JUNO jewelry store chinatown san francisco

Walking into the store, I met the sales lady making a chain and wire wrapped necklace.

JUNO jewelry store chinatown san francisco JUNO jewelry store chinatown san franciscoFinally it was time to head back home but I had to pop into one last store. Here, I got this gorgeous crystal encrusted gold ring. It was simple, small and very charming. It was going to take over from my ALDO ring as my everyday ring but unfortunately it was stolen in a restroom the next day. It goes without saying that I was terribly heart broken.

IMG_5846

Day 2 was finally over and it was another day well spent. If you are ever in San Francisco, I highly suggest you visit Chinatown because it has something for everyone.

20130418-202219.jpg

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I absolutely love San Francisco and China Town. The jewellery shops are amazing, and so is the food! I have had one of the best meals ever there!

Your Thoughts?

